Postdoctoral Fellows:





Dr.  Volodymyr Hiiuk.

Dr. Hiiuk Volodymyr obtained his Master's degree in Chemistry from V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University in 2017. After that, he was a Ph.D. student at the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy under the supervision of Prof. Alexander A. Golub and Prof. Igor O. Fritsky. There he worked on the design of new Hofmann-type spin-crossover Fe(II) complexes based on bicyclic azine ligands. Volodymyr joined Nagorny and Ramamoorthy groups in 2023 and is currently involved in the development of synthetic inulin derivatives and their application for the formation and characterization of non-ionic nanodiscs. Outside of the lab, Volodymyr enjoys playing soccer, running, and spending time with his friends. To contact Volodymyr, please email him directly at

Graduate Student Researchers:


Ryan Rutkoski
Ryan Rutkoski obtained his B.S. degree in chemical engineering from Rowan University, New Jersey at 2018.  Upon completion these studies, he joined the Medicinal Chemistry Program at the University of Michigan.  In 2019 he joined the Nagorny group where he currently explores synthesis and medicinal chemistry of cardiotonic steroids and develops new methods for glycosylation of natural products. To contact Ryan, please email him directly at


Oleksii Zhelavskyi 

Oleksii obtained B.S. in Chemistry from V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University (Ukraine, 2019). During the undergraduate period, he worked on developing a methodology for multicomponent reactions and MW-chemistry. After joining the Nagorny group in 2019 he started exploring the area of chiral catalysis and its applications in flow chemistry. At the same time, Oleksii is co-advised with Prof. P. Zimmerman and performs computational mechanistic studies. His outside-lab hobbies include electronics, programming, and history learning. To contact Oleksii, please email him directly at


Natasha Perry

 Natasha Perry joined the Nagorny group in the spring of 2021. She graduated from Michigan State University in the spring of 2020 with a B.S. in chemistry. Under the guidance of Babak Borhan, she worked on the total synthesis of Napyrdiomycin A1, a compound known for anti-tumor properties. In the Nagorny lab, she currently works on aminating cardiotonic steroids for the development of therapeutics for prion diseases, cancer, and RNA viruses. Outside of lab, Natasha enjoys reading, gardening, making paper craft, and exploring nature. 

To contact Natasha, please email her directly at

Colin Tichvon (Colin Tichvon earned his B.A. in Chemistry with Honors from Northwestern University in 2021 working with Prof. Michael Wasielewski on the synthesis of chiral charge transfer complexes. He joined the Nagorny group in 2023 and is currently working on the total synthesis of bufadienolide natural products. Outside of lab, Colin loves collecting vinyl, creative writing, and trying all of Ann Arbor's amazing restaurants.). To contact Colin, please email him at

Zoey Surma (Zoey is current second year in the Nagorny group. Her research interests include the total synthesis of steroid and diterpenoid natural products, as well as asymmetric chiral phosphoric acid catalysis (CPA) with applications in continuous flow. She is originally from Washington state and attended the University of Washington where she received a B.S. in Chemistry. There she conducted computational research in the Genetically Engineered Materials Science and Engineering Center specifically using Molecular Dynamics to model protein-graphene interfaces for biosensory development. In her free-time, she loves long-distance running, playing soccer, crocheting, listening to music, and playing with her cat. To contact Zoey, please email her at

Current Master Students:


Zhengcheng Chen (1st year, )


Fall 2023 Semester Rotators:


Hannah Chantavoralak (1st year, )

Emil Lammi (1st year,


Former Lab Members:

Graduate Students (Ph.D.):


Sungjin Kim (2019-2023), Currently a research scientist at RAPT Therapeutics

Nolan Carney (2019-2023), Currently a medicinal chemist at Hexagon Bio

Siyuan Sun (2016-2021), Currently a senior researcher scientist at New England Discovery Partners (NEDP)

Sibin Wang (2017-2021), Currently an advanced product development scientist at Momentive

Zachary Fejedelem (2017-2021), Currently a researcher at Takeda Pharmaceuticals

Nicolas Diaz (2017-2022)

Alonso Arguelles (2015-2019), Currently a researcher at Eli Lilly

Jenghyo Lee (2015-2019), Currently an assistant professor of chemistry at Hanyang University (South Korea)

Bijay Bhattarai (2014-2018), Currently a senior scientist at The Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson

Tay (Jia-Hui Tay) Rosenthal (2014-2018), Currently a process chemistry group leader at Corteva

Will Kaplan (2013-2017), Currently a principal scientist (medicinal chemistry) at DeepCure

Alina Borovika (2011-2015), Currently a senior manager of Strategy, Portfolio & Development Analytics at Bristol Myers Squibb (BMS)

Nathan Cichowicz (2010-2015), Currently an executive Rocket Professional Support Banker at Quicken Loans

Brian Larsen (2010-2015), Curently a senior staff scientist at Ashland

Grace A. Winschel (2010-2015), Currently a Judicial Law Clerck at U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Curcuit.

Graduate Students (M.S.):


Jacob Garabedian (2022-2023) Currently, a research assistant at Boston Children's Hospital

Yaxin Ouyang (2021-2023)

Hongdi Wu (2022-2023) Currently, a chemistry Ph.D. student at Pitssburgh University

Yin-Jia Jhang (2021-2023) Currently, a chemistry Ph.D. student at the University of Michigan

Robyn Hoover (2019-2020) Currently, a biology researcher at Battelle Inc.

Hao Guo (2019-2020) Currently, a Ph.D. student at Lehigh University

Rami Hourani (2017-2019) Currently, a chemistry Ph.D. student at Stanford University

Jeremy O'Brien (2015-2017) Currently, an analytical chemist at Avomeen

Danielle Singleton (2014-2015), Currently at Fluids Customer Application Development team at ExxonMobil.

April (Pui-In) Tang (2011-2013), Currently a technical manager at Henkel

Postdoctoral Fellows:


Dr. Zhankui Sun (2011-2014), Currently a professor at School of Pharmacy, Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Dr. Enoch Mensah (2012-2014), Currently an assoaciate professor of chemistry at Indiana University Southeast

Dr. Yong Guan (2014-2015), Currently a postdoctoral fellow at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (Mattson group)

Dr. Hem Khatri (2015-2019), Currently process chemistry advisor at Eli Lilly and Company

Dr. Iaroslav Khomutnik (2015-2019) Currently, Staff Analytical Scientist at Lumigen, Inc.

Dr. Eugene Zviagin (2021-2023) Currently, a senior scientist at Syensqo

International Research Scholars and REU Students:


Thobella Bixa (2011-2012), Cape Town University

Takanori Tanaka (2015-2016), Mio University

Kenta Yamamoto (2016-2017) Mio University

Eloisa Serrano (2016), ICIQ (Spain)

Miranda Callahan (2017), Sewanee University

Valentin Dorokhov (2017), Mendeleev University

Suraj Sharma (2017), IISER Pune

Miyuki Hotta (2017-2018) Mio University

Zhongzheng Li (2017/2018), Nankai University

Chang Shu (2018) USTC

Anton Bannykh (2019) Saint-Petersburg University

Writam Choudhuri (2019), IISER Pune

Qingqin Huang (2019), Fudan University

Sophia Gospodinova (2023), Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology


Undergraduate Students:

Hongdi, Wu, Dania Alazawi, Solomon Song, Yaseen Ali, Rami Hourani, Brenna Budaitis, Ryan Fornwald, Seth Klapman, Wuliang Zhang, David Rub, Ahmed Tasdiq, Garret Rubin, Maxwell Raithel