Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society
Awards Ceremony, Initiation. Lecture and Banquet
April 24, 2013


Full Member Initiates included (L-R): Michael Katz and Sathish Ramini (not present were
Terence Clark, Michael Ramington, Adam Stienecker and Kenneth Weil)


Associate Member Initiates include (L-R): Shane Kraus, Selin Gulgoz,
Loren Post, Lauren Reed and Jérren Weekes-Kanu
(Not present were Emily Briceno, Kristen Lamp, Jennifer Marola,
Sylvia Raszikowski, Drew Sturgeon and Catherine York).

Science and Math Teacher of the Year Award*

Committee Chair Peter Woo (L) with Winner Dr. James Lupton (Greenhills School)

*Funding for this award was provided by The Pfizer foundation (established by Pfizer Inc, the pharmaceutical company).

Science Fair 2013 Winners**
Click HERE to see the posters.

(L-R) William McRoy (Clague), Logan Hayner (Ann Arbor Open),
Alexandra Kulick (Forsythe) and Kelsey Snyder (Greenhills School)
(Not present were Maya Gisnchandani (Skyline) and Nan Hu (Pioneer).

**Funding for these awards was provided by Chapter Dues and a generous donation from a Chapter member

50-Year Members

Six members were honored for 50 years of active membership in Sigma Xi.
Their names and the Chapter that elected them in 1963 are:
Clifton J. Blankley (Stanford), James E. Harris (UM), Elmer L. Johansen (UM),
Lawrence D. Phillips (UM), Charles F. Sing (Kansas State), and Paul A. Volz (MSU)

After the dinner, the attendees were treated to a lecture about The Curiosity Rover
of the Mars Science Laboratory by one of the lead scientists, Sushil Atreya,
who is a UM Professor in the Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Science

2006 Banquet
2007 Banquet
2008 Banquet
2009 Banquet
2010 Banquet
2011 Banquet
2012 Banquet
2013 Banquet
2014 Banquet
2015 Banquet
2016 Banquet