Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society
Awards Ceremony, Initiation. Lecture and Banquet
April 20, 2016

Banquet Brochure

(The Chapter is grateful for a very generous donation from Ms. Cathleen Zepelin
to establish a fund in memory of Dr. Harold Zepelin, a Sigma Xi member, who died in 2006.)

Full Member Initiates included (L-R): Apryl Brown, Ai Leen Choo & Rebecca Lange
(Not present: Joseph West)


Associate Member Initiates include (L-R): Chris Nguyen, David Morris,
Diana Bennett, Margaret (Maggie) Davis, Julie Gass, Neelima Wagley,
Arianna Gard, Jacob (Jake) Raak, Annalise Rahman and Jaclyn (Jaci) Reckow.

Science and Math Teachers of the Year Award (with Committee Chair Peter Woo*

Kerry Wolf (Manchester Middle School)


Jennifer VanWagnen (Brooklyn Columbia Central High School)

*Funding for this award was provided by The Pfizer foundation (established by Pfizer Inc, the pharmaceutical company).

Science Fair 2016 Winners**
Click HERE to see the posters.

Junior Division
(L-R) Kellen Black (Forsythe Middle School), Annika Jaglan (Forsythe Middle School), and Laura O'Brien (Forsythe Middle School)

Senior Division
[Council Member Cynthia Marcelo] Raphael Berkooz (Pioneer High School [Council Member Elizabeth Duell]
(Not Present: Arundhathy Suresh (Pioneer High School)

**Funding for these awards was provided by Chapter Dues and a generous donation from a Chapter member

50-Year Members

Seven members were honored for 50 years of active membership in Sigma Xi.
Their names and the Chapter that elected them in 1966 are:

  • Don B. Chaffin (016 UM)
  • Hsien-Wen Feng (016 UM)
  • Joachim Janecke (016 UM)
  • Daniel Pinkel (016 UM)
  • Steven Weiss (063 MIT)
  • John Winthrop (016 UM)
  • Milford Wolpoff (017 Illinois)

After the dinner, the attendees were treated to a thought-provoking lecture about
Supervolcano Eruptions by Dr. Rebecca Lange of the Department of Earth and
Environmental Sciences. at the University of MIchigan.

2006 Banquet
2007 Banquet
2008 Banquet
2009 Banquet
2010 Banquet
2011 Banquet
2012 Banquet
2013 Banquet
2014 Banquet
2015 Banquet
2016 Banquet
2017 Banquet